Carson-Newman is led by outstanding academic professionals committed to servant leadership and the Christian mission of the university.

Meet the President

Charles A. Fowler, Ph.D., was installed as president of Carson-Newman in 2019, following an intentional, prayer-guided search. He most recently served as senior pastor of Germantown Baptist Church (GBC) in West Tennessee, a congregation with a rich history of faithful gospel ministry and missional engagement. 

Prior to pastoral ministry at GBC, Dr. Fowler held executive positions at Union University, including senior vice president of University Relations, vice president for Enrollment Management, vice president for Development, founding executive director of the Union University Foundation, and professor of Christian ministries and education. Dr. Fowler has also taught at Mississippi State University and The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. 

Dr. Fowler has served in leadership roles with the International Mission Board, Baptist Memorial Healthcare, Union University, Blue Mountain College and the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission. 

A native of Corinth, Mississippi, Dr. Fowler is a graduate of Union University, Mississippi State University and New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. He and his wife, Sandra, have two adult daughters.

With Carson-Newman’s trustees, faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as the churches of the Tennessee Baptist Convention, we are working together to graduate servant-leaders who are equipped to be difference makers for the cause of Christ.

Charles A. Fowler, PhD / President, Carson-Newman University

Executive Leadership Team

Jonathan Akin

Vice President for Church Relations & Campus Ministries

Jeremy Buckner

Provost & Professor of Music

Robert Key

Vice President for Business and Financial Services

Matthew Pope

Vice President & Director of Athletics

2130 S. Branner Ave
Jefferson City, Tennessee 37760
United States

Danette Seale

Vice President for Enrollment Management and Executive Director of Financial Aid

Kevin Triplett

Vice President for University Relations

Gloria Walker ’16

Vice President for Student Services